Logseq and boundaries

I was just reading an MIT Technology review article about people who use Notion for everything, and I came across this paragraph:

For people like Bergen who use the same app to map both their personal and work lives, there can be downsides, Touroni adds.

"The obvious benefit is that your work and personal life are likely to intersect and using the same app will take account of this for more efficient time scheduling,” she says. “The disadvantages are that it will become more difficult to create boundaries between work and home life, as you’ll be having to navigate both parts of your life whenever you use the app.”

This is the main reason why I have multiple graphs. If I’m studying, then I’m studying, I don’t want to miss-click and open the page about my self-hosted setup and then get distracted with some “simple task” or “just updating the servers”, for example.

What do you think? Do you like to have some “mega graph” with everything in it? Just a couple of graphs? Or do you like having a graph for everything?

1 Like

I don’t think I need to use multiple graph. The problem is, people who use notion having to deal with files organization. Upon navigating through the app, they may stumble upon content that they don’t want to deal at the time, if one is not skillful in organizing. But here in logseq I just search exactly the term and jump into that and I don’t need to create many graphs, unless I want to create a dedicated graph for publishing and don’t want to include my personal journal, etc. That’s just my opinion

1 Like

I’m in the “One Graph to Gather Them in, and in the Darkness Bind Them” camp. But I run several small businesses that overlap. Years ago, I was a OneNote guy and I kept different notebooks for different projects – about a dozen active at any time. What I discovered is that, for me, not having a 50,000-foot combined view of everything meant my ability to prioritize across projects/subjects became more challenged.