Actual daily journalling?

Hi,
Is anyone using LogSeq as an actual daily journal?
As in, logging events of the day, for example - media consumed/read/watched/listened, exercise, travel, thoughts about the day or anything like that?
I’ve been keeping one for a few years in DevonThink as markdown files for each day and I use iOS Shortcuts to generate standard markdown text forms for each entry that’s time stamped and with a heading. A shortcut creates the file at the beginning of the day with a header of the weather forecast, my geographical location and the time I created it as the first entry.
My journals are the one thing I do almost entirely on my phone but I tidy up and tag the day’s files on my laptop at least once a month.

Curious if anyone is doing something like this and what your layout is and what kind of things you’re tracking.

3 Likes

I’ve been using LogSeq for two years for daily journaling. Before that, I used Day One for eight years. I have mixed feelings about LogSeq for this purpose. While it is incredibly powerful to be able to cross-reference data (blocks), and I like Markdown as a storage format, I miss Day One’s UI a lot. DayOne also automatically pulls weather, health, photos, location and other metadata from MacOS and IOS.

I created a script that imports DayOne data into LogSeq. Now I’m thinking of creating a LogSeq to DayOne script to keep both in sync.

2 Likes

Interesting. Thanks for the thoughts.

I’ve tried to avoid too many “one use” applications, where I can. DevonThink is a a monster Swiss Army knife that I use in a whole bunch of ways. With Shortcuts in iOS and scripting on the desktop I can automate a lot of data entry and organization. I’ve stayed away from the specific personal journaling apps as avoiding lock-in is also a goal.

Logseq looks pretty promising for a bunch of different uses (personal and work related).