Blocks - proper format for title and tags

I’m new to Logseq and I’m starting keeping a journal as it was recommended in the documentation. So my primary notes are blocks in the journal and I have a couple of questions.

1. What is the best/good practice to title blocks from your perspective of powerful users?

It is my understanding, that at least every journal block should have a title.
It also seems that the title should be the first line of a block.
If I don’t mark it with #-s, it’s obviously not a title, at least it looks like text.
If I add single # prefix, the title appears to be ugly, I mean - too big.
Should it be then two #-s? 3? What is the rule here?
I wouldn’t want to begin with a wrong number of #-s and to find myself later refactoring hundreds of blocks :slight_smile:

1. Where should I put tags in a block? Should it come in the title prefix, postfix, below the title, at the bottom of a block?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like
  • There are no such rules.
    • Different users develop different approaches.
      • As you use Logseq, your own approach will definitely evolve.
        • No matter your initial preparation.
  • There is no necessity to title most blocks.
    • With default sizes, 3 #s look better than less
      • But the more #s used, the more typing they need, so avoid too many.
    • However, Logseq is an outliner
      • Prefer putting the title in its own block, then add the content broken in child-blocks.
        • Not necessarily as small as in this post, but small-enough to call them atomic.
  • Tags are secondary, thus better placed at the end of the most relevant line.
    • The primary references should be inline, as part of the text itself.
1 Like

Thanks @mentaloid for sharing! I’ll take this into account.