Educators using Logseq - workflow ideas

Hello fellow notetaking-enthusiasts!

Are there any educators out there using Logseq and/or Obsidian? I have been using Obsidian since 2020, but just moved to Logseq to be my primarily notetaking application (or the inbox as I call it). I will continue to use Obsidian for my final notes.

But, I am interested in hearing how teachers and professors use Logseq for course and lesson planning etc. Do you create a page for each course you teach? Do you use any metadata properties for these? And what about other areas and administration of your field where you also need to do some notetaking? I myself, teach 5 courses each term + being a director of studies. So this is quite many lessons, meetings, designing presentations and other materials, examining and planning the budget+hours for all courses we teach. I like Logseq for the outliner/parent-child-relation-structure, which removes some of the cognitive burden when needing to get something down. But I wan’t to start of in the right way so I don’t need to fiddle to much with my graph later on. I speak of experience, since 2020 I have probably created 20-30 new “vaults” in Obsidian, each time trying to perfect my workflow. So now I really just want to find the right structure. Any inputs will make me gratified!

1 Like

Hi, I am not a teacher, but when it comes to courses and lessons you have two options:

1. Use a page for each course and indent lessons there. You can add metadata about lessons as properties:: to the header of each lesson, for example slide:: lesson1.pdf
  2. Use a page for each course and lessons as pages too but in a namespace, for example [[Course A/Lesson 1]]. Or even [[Course A/1]], [[Course B/1]]. Then metadata about lessons would be page-properties of those pages