How might this workflow support biology research?

Hi! I am a beginning research assistant at a cell biology lab. As my workflow, I need to write papers, remember experiment decisions, get ideas from other books and papers. Since my background is the computational but not the biological part of the research, I am also learning basics of biology from textbooks and conversations.

In my previous approach, I took lots of notes as I read or generated data or planned. But there are some problems in my workflow.
(1) when I need to use a reading, I didn’t get the most of the reading. I forget what the paper was about when I need to cite it, and what specific figure or finding was most relevant to what part of our study. I have a hard time explaining the gap between the paper and our study, in other words I didn’t fully reach the learning outcomes of the paper.
(2) when I need to write about what we did, I forget decisions I made. This resulted in constantly pivoting the question, or rewriting each section in the paper over and over again because I either had too high of a standard for the completion, or couldn’t synthesize the complex information enough to make a point.
(3) when I record simulation data and analysis, I have large codebooks, many data log files and a figma board of figures. each time I need to go over the growing body of work, the work become scattered in more places that make them harder to find.

To address these problems, I tried to first aggregate all the writing into one place (logseq). I want to make use of this tool fully to achieve my workflow for research. So far, here is what I have done:
(1) when I need to use a reading: I pull annotations into the book page, then make a paraphrased main point of a few of the quotes. I also turn the key concepts into pages through properties, but I suspect this is not the full use of properties as I want to but can’t pull up all the keywords in one list immediately.