Mark McElroy's Introduction (and 3-Month Experiment)

Hi, folks. I’m a writer and strategic advisor who uses #PKM tools to synthesize information and connect ideas. I started in Roam, but moved to Obsidian more than a year ago. After some interaction with friends online, I started exploring Logseq this year. (For the first three months of 2023, I’m using Logseq exclusively, and planning to retro the experience at the end of March.)

At the moment, I am enjoying working in a true outliner again, adapting to a block-first environment (versus Obsidian’s page-first metaphor), and wishing that queries and project management were a bit easier to work with in Logseq.

I’m eager to learn more here … and to encourage you folks to consider joining me over on Mastodon for insights and conversations about the work. You can find me there at @markmcelroy@pkm.social – but I’ll be popping in and out here, too, of course.

Thanks!

9 Likes

Did you give up on Tana?

Hi! I’d wouldn’t say I gave up. But after using it exclusively for a month or two, I did decide that, whileTana is magical, in its current incarnation, it wasn’t for me. Long story short: I prefer local-first, Markdown-based, “trust no one” solutions that aren’t backed by VC money. I wrote about it in detail here:

7 Likes

have you considered Affine?

Might be worth a try for the months following your logseq trial

Eeeek! I’m sure it has its selling points, but Affine looks like it’s very, very early in the development process … not yet a candidate for me, I’m afraid. But thanks for the lead!

totally agreed! thats why i said after the current 3 month logseq commitment
; -D

Excellent Article Mark. Thanks for taking the time. I think I need more understanding of Logseq’s ability to save searches so I can create my workflows like Tana does. I like the approach of doing experiments rather than becoming fixated on “this or that” energy. Thanks again.

1 Like