New (to) Logseq, who dis?

Hello from London, UK! I’m a writer, editor, educator and independent artistic director in the literature sector here.

I’ve had my eyes on Logseq for a while now, and I’ve kicked the tyres on more than one occasion, but today I’m committing to making some meaningful use of it. I’ve been intrigued by the possibilities of a knowledge management system that facilitates back-links and graphs, but there were a few things that got in the way for my use case…

• I work primarily on mobile devices— an iPad Pro, and even an iPad Mini at times, and I appreciate being able to use an iPad in a way that doesn’t depend on a keyboard, which doesn’t work well with many knowledge management systems where at least some of the functionality is invoked by keyboard shortcuts…
  • I already have a stack of tools that I’m pretty comfortable with on the most part (Drafts, GoodTask and iThoughts) for tasks, note-taking and managing knowledge, even if it did feel like there was something I was missing out on whenever I’d look at Logseq, Roam et al.

What changed?

• The biggest thing was setting up a Drafts<–>GitHub<–>Logseq workflow. It’s early days yet, but this helped me set up a couple of actions in Drafts that allow me to push/pull .md files, meaning I should be able to continue working with the workflows I’m already comfortable with while maintaining Logseq as an additional sense-making layer. I don’t intend to push all of the notes I make to Logseq; instead, a specific subset. Rather than the traditional signal/noise analogy, I’m thinking of Logseq as a more tightly focused lens for my Drafts signal. Narrower beam.