Graph View and Linking - Child blocks not connected to parent blocks?

Hello all,

I’m new to logseq, but most of the theory videos I’ve seen make enough sense. In fact, I tried to manually do similar tasks with mind-mapping software, but it was dreadful. I intend to use logseq as a personal knowledge management tool if possible, with potentially new insights being welcome but not expected, necessarily.

I’m not able to understand, however, the system for correctly linking items. I’m not sure where I’ve gotten a bit lost, and since I am new to these types of softwares, an example might be the most illustrative.

I’ve watched enough videos suggested by all the help pages to have been told that keeping all your ideas on a Journal each day might be a good way to start. I followed this advice, and then began filling some relationships of ideas I want to store. Below is a mock up. I decided to make each of these entries within the day’s journal as pages because these are long-term categories/groups of things I would like to explore and navigate around in a nearly-wiki like fashion.

Journal of 2022.7.27

• [[Hobbies]]
    • [[Languages]]
      • [[Spanish]]
    • [[Mathematics]]
      • [[Texts]]
        • [[Book of Proofs]]
          • [[Sets]]
          • [[Logic]]

If I click on Mathematics, it of course shows me the Linked reference, traced back to 2022.7.27 journal entry, including the sub-pages I created within the journal entry. However, clicking Graph View shows that these pages are actually orphan pages, rather than including links from each parent page to each of the nested child pages.

I’m confused why this is behaving this way. I have to manually go to [[Hobbies]] and re-type the sub-pages again in order to get them linked in the graph view? This is exceptionally inefficient. Thus, I am SURE I’m doing something incorrectly, but I cannot figure out why, because the videos I saw were fairly rudimentary or focussed only on the philosophy and concepts.