Logseq as a visual cataloger

Hi,

I recently started using Logseq. Being used to note-taking software like Joplin, or Trillium, switching to Logseq needed (and still does) a little extra effort in order to understand the logic behind it.

At first, it felt a little confusing. As other users, I expected to work with pages, and folders, only to later understand what an outliner is, and how Logseq networked thinking differs from hierarchical thinking. Now that I start getting the hang of it, I can definitely see the advantages, and I’m finding it way more efficient than any other note-taking software I used before.

While I enjoy the outliner nature of Logseq, I wonder if it’s still the right choice to use it to gather visual references too. In Trillium, I used to import images, paste screenshots, that I use as a visual reference for my work (I’m a graphic designer). The way Trillium formats the images is quite tidy. In Logseq, images are still blocks, which could be OK, though I find it less visually structured than Trillium.
On top of that, I wonder if throwing lots of images at Logseq could cause any lag.

So, I’m curious to hear if there are other users who employ Logseq as a visual catalog too, and if so, I’d love to get your insights on the best way to do it. If not, what other tool could be a good complement to Logseq for a task like this?

2 Likes

Could you post a couple screenshots that show the difference? I am also capturing screenshots, and I also find the experience suboptimal. For me the main issue is switching back and forth between windows and the difficulty of inserting information between existing blocks or switching out images. I have not noticed any lag issues.

1 Like

Sure,

Here’s an example of the same content in both Trillium, and Logseq.

You’ll notice how in Trillium I was able to rearrange the images on the top.
The layout functionalities are basic, nonetheless good enough for a decent customization of the page.