Updating logseq appimage on Linux

I am still very new to logseq but making some progress (I think I am).

• system is Ubuntu Mate 22.04 LTS
  • I downloaded the appimage 0.10.6
  • I run logseq from this appimage which is now executable

there is a version 0.10.7, but settings “check updates” button does nothing. The post How to Update to Newer Version of Logseq without losing plugins, etc ? Linux comments that this update button does not work.
However

• I did not extract files from a zip file,
  • nor do not want nightly updates.
  • Also do not have the knowledge to understand the bash script that is offered as the solution.

Does one simply download the new appimage and run that and all journals, pages, plugins and themes work seamlessly? I am unfamiliar with appimages

Greetings.Yes, I just download whatever appimage I want to run, make it executable (edit my hotkey to point to the new appimage) and off I go.

I suggest to use Flatpak instead of AppImage, that way you can update all your apps at the same time with GNOME Software, Plasma Discover or flatpak command line interface:

2 Likes

I used app image launcher for some time, but I’ve switched to flatpak later–the updates work automatically, no drawbacks, so I recommend looking into that instead that as well.

thank you @musings @alex0 and @overthere for your replies

I have installed flatpack and when running ‘flatpak run com.logseq.Logseq’ Logseq opens and works as before, it took a while to realize I had to update theme and plugin to see icons on top line.
I notice that there are some errors/warnings in the terminal

➜  ~ flatpak run com.logseq.Logseq
[3:0310/102419.915203:ERROR:bus.cc(407)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory
(rsapi) init loggers
LaunchProcess: failed to execvp:
xdg-settings
Gtk-Message: 10:24:36.190: Failed to load module "appmenu-gtk-module"